About us

Airports Vanuatu Limited (AVL) is a private company incorporated under the Vanuatu Companies Act (Cap 191) but with share stock held by two Government Ministers, namely the Minister for Finance & Economic Management and the Minister for Infrastructure & Public Utilities. It has an independent 5 member Board of Directors. While it is Government owned, AVL operates largely autonomously from Government, does not receive Government subsidies, and sources its finance from the commercial financial markets.

AVL was Formed in 2000 as part of a restructure of the former Civil Aviation Department, AVL is licensed under the Civil Aviation Act No. 16 of 1999 as the operator of the three international gateway airports, and of the National Air Traffic services and Air Navigation System. AVL is also the recognized Aviation Security Service provider under the Vanuatu Aviation Security Act No. 10 of 2007. In 2005, AVL established its wholly owned subsidiary, Vanuatu Terminal Services (VTS), which operates freight handling terminals in Port Vila and Luganville, and provides aircraft ground handling services.

AVL Comprises of the following Departments and its Subsidiary company;

  • Commercial
  • Infrastructure
  • Operations
  • Aviation Security (AVSEC)
  • Subsidiary Company: Vanuatu Terminal Services (VTS)

Jason Rakau
Chief Executive Officer

Rowland M. Kalsong
Manager Compliance

Dolsie Kalmatak
Executive Assistant

Kevin D. Abel
General Manager Operations

Benson Kanas
Chief Financial Officer